Several key decisions were taken by the Assam government during a Cabinet meeting held under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Thursday.

Here are the decisions taken by the Cabinet:

Education Department

As part of State government’s decision to begin classes for HS final, Degree final and PG final year from 1st week of September, 2021, vaccination camps will be held at the offices of Block Elementary Education Officer, District Elementary Education Officer, Inspector of Schools and all University campus from tomorrow to inoculate teachers, non-teaching staff and students above 18 years.

First dose of the COVID-19 vaccine is mandatory for those attending classes. Hostellers and borders will be required to take both doses of the vaccine.

SoP on opening of educational institutions and related matters will be issued on or before 31st August.

Public Health Engineering Department

The Cabinet has decided to create three new divisions of Public Health Engineering Department in Majuli, South Salmara-Mankachar and Bajali with headquarters at Kamalabari, Hatsingimari and Pathsala respectively, along with creation of 93 posts for the new divisions.

Sports Department

The cabinet has further decided to celebrate the birthday of Arjun Bhogeswar Baruah as Sports Day on 3rd September every year.

It has also decided to increase the amount of sports pension from the existing amount of Rs. 8,000 to Rs. 10,000. And has fixed the one time financial assistance to sports persons at Rs. 50,000.

Players who have won medals at national championships, Asian Games, Commonwealth games and Olympics will be given lifetime pension of Rs. 10,000 per month.

Public Works Department

For smooth implementation of activities of Public Works Department (Building), the cabinet approved creation of 8 new circles, 20 new divisions and 28 sub-divisions in the state.

The cabinet also approved creation of 804 technical posts for the department.

Other decisions

In the interest of public service and to rationalize staff for smooth implementation of government programmes and activities, Deputy Commissioners are empowered to transfer staff of government departments within the jurisdiction of the district in consultation with the Head of the concerned department up to the rank of Junior Engineer.

The other decisions include, renaming of Science & Technology Department in the state as Science, Technology and Climate Change Department.

The cabinet also reviewed the flood situation of BTAD and has decided to depute Minister Jogen Mohan and UG Brahma to monitor the situation.