The second round of talks to resolve the long pending Assam-Meghalaya border dispute concluded on a positive note.

The discussions revolved around the issue of the boundary dispute in the 12 areas along the Assam-Meghalaya border.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and his Meghalaya counterpart Conrad Sangma on Friday held crucial deliberations in Guwahati wherein it was decided that both the states have agreed on resolving the dispute in 6 out of 12 identified areas of dispute.

The six areas are Tarabari, Hahim, Boklapara, Gizan, Khanapara (Pilingkata) and Ratacherra. Both the states have also agreed to form regional committees to be headed by a cabinet minister.

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said that both the sides have agreed to focus on ethnicity, administrative convenience, sentiments and contiguity to resolve the matter.