Top BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma took oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam during a swearing-in ceremony at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra in Guwahati on Monday.

Assam Governor Prof. Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office and secrecy to Sarma as the new Chief Minister.

BJP national president JP Nadda, ex-CM Sarbananda Sonowal, Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma, Tripura CM Biplab Deb, Manipur CM Biren Singh and Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio and other leaders were also present at the ceremony.

State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass, AGP President Atul Bora, UPPL MLA UG Brahma and BJP MLA Parimal Shukla Baidya were also administered oath as cabinet ministers.

Sarma was elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party on Sunday.

Before the swearing-in ceremony, Sarma visited the Kamakhya Temple to offer his prayers there.