NEDA Convener Himanta Biswa Sarma received massive support from fellow Chief Ministers of the region as he took oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam on Monday.

As many as four Chief Ministers of the North-East Democratic Alliance or NEDA ruled states in the region attended the swearing-in ceremony of Sarma in Guwahati to extend their support and best wishes. Those present included Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma, Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb and Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio.

BJP national president JP Nadda, outgoing Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Union ministers Jitendra Singh and Ramesh Teli and Assam Congress chief Ripun Bora were also among those present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Sarma was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Jagdish Mukhi at Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra. Along with him, 13 other legislators were also sworn-in as ministers.