Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday, took oath as the state’s 15th Chief Minister of Assam along with 13 other cabinet ministers at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati.


The new cabinet has ministers from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance partners Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). Many of those, who were ministers in the cabinet led by former chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, have also been included in the new ministry.

The newly sworn-in cabinet ministers include State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass, AGP president Atul Bora and UPPL founder president UG Brahma.

Parimal Suklabaidya, Keshab Mahanta, Chandramohan Patowary, Sanjay Kishan, Pijush Hazarika and Jogen Mahan, who were ministers during the Sonowal regime also retained berths in the new ministry.

BJP MLAs Ajanta Neog, Ranoj Pegu, Ashok Singhal and Bimal Bora also took oath as cabinet ministers.

Ajanta Neog who joined BJP ahead of assembly polls was a Congress minister in Tarun Gogoi-led governments. Whereas, Ranoj Pegu and Ashok Singhal were inducted as ministers for the first time.

Ranoj Pegu, Sanjay Kishan, Jogen Mohan, Ajanta Neog, Ashok Singhal take oath as ministers

During the meeting of the BJP Legislature Party held in Guwahati on Sunday, Himanta Biswa Sarma was elected as its new leader.

Later on Sunday, Himanta Biswa Sarma, accompanied by Sonowal other party MLAs and leaders met Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi at the Raj Bhawan and staked claim to form government in the state.