The BJP-led alliance has registered massive victory in all four seats of Guwahati. All candidates of the ruling NDA alliance swept the four assembly constituencies under the Kamrup Metropolitan district with huge margins of votes.

Senior BJP leader, Assam health, finance and education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma bagged the Jalukbari seat for the fifth consecutive term with a margin of 1,01,911 votes. Sarma has been elected with 1,30,762 votes. His nearest rival Romen Borthakur got 28,851 votes.

BJP candidate Atul Bora registered victory with a record margin of 1,21,091 votes, which is the highest in the State. Bora netted 1,95,218 votes. His nearest opponent Manjit Mahanta of Congress got only 74,127 votes.

In Gauhati East, BJP minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya defeated Ashima Bordoloi of Congress with a margin of 83,414 votes. Bhattacharya got 1,12,486 votes. Only 29,072 people voted for Ashima Bordoloi.

AGP candidate Ramendra Narayan Kalita also claimed landslide victory in Gauhati West. Kalita defeated Mira Borthakur of Congress with a difference of 77,795 votes. He got 1,36,483 votes, Borthakur got 58,688 votes.

The BJP, which has emerged victorious in the Assam assembly elections for the second successive time, has garnered 33.21 per cent share of the votes, according to the Election Commission.