Top BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma is leading in Jalukbari with 24,947 votes after the four rounds of counting.

Sarma, who has been representing the Jalukbari seat since 2001 is trailing his Congress rival Romen Borthakur by 15,927 votes.

Earlier in the day, Borthakur claimed he would defeat Dr. Sarma by getting around 90,000 votes. The Congress candidate has got 9,020 votes.

In 2016, senior BJP leader and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma claimed landslide victory in Jalukbari with a margin of 85,935 votes. While Dr. Sarma netted 118,390 votes, Congress candidate Niren Deka got 32,455 votes.

According to trends available from the 126 assembly seats that went to polls, the BJP is ahead in 58 seats, Cong 28 and AGP 13.