In a landslide victory, NEDA Convener and Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has won from the Jalukbari seat for the fifth consecutive term.

Sarma defeated his Congress rival Romen Borthakur with a huge margin of 1,01,911 votes.

Taking to Twitter Sarma wrote, “BJP4India won Jalukbari LAC-by a margin of 1,01,911 votes. It would be my Privilege to represent the constituency for 5th consecutive term. My gratitude to the people of Jalukbari, Honble PM @narendramodi, HM @AmitShah and national president @JPNadda, JAI AAI ASOM, JAI HIND.”

The senior BJP leader also urged the people to follow restraint and to not gather for celebrations in view of the COVID-19 situation in the state.

“After the #AssamPolls results are out, I humbly urge all to kindly follow restraint and do not get together for celebrations. Please let’s all remember we are in the midst of #COVID19 pandemic and how Hon PM Sri @narendramodiis leading this battle from the front,”

The ruling BJP-led NDA in Assam is leading in 76 assembly seats, while the Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress is ahead in 44 places, according to the trends available in the Election Commission’s website.