The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), an alliance of the ruling BJP has managed to secure 6 seats so far, as per trends available in the Election Commission (EC) website. The party is leading in 4 seats.

AGP candidate Ramendra Narayan Kalita emerging victorious in the Gauhati West seat.

Kalita defeated Congress rival Mira Borthakur Goswami by a huge margin.

In the 2016 Assam Assembly elections, Ramendra Narayan Kalita of AGP won in this seat by defeating Dr Jury Sharma Bordoloi of INC.

Senior AGP leader and minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury claimed victory in Bongaigaon for the eight time. He defeated his nearest opponent Sankar Prasad Ray of Congress with a margin of 37,535 votes.

Choudhury has been winning the seat since 1985.

Earlier, AGP president and Assam agriculture minister Atul Bora also emerged victorious from the Bokakhat seat. Bora got 72,067 votes.