The ruling BJP-led NDA is set to retain power in Assam, as per the latest trends available according to Election Commission.

In Assam, out of 126 seats, BJP has won 30 seats and is ahead in 28 seats, Indian National Congress has won 11 and leading in 21, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is leading 3 seats with 7 wins, AIUDF has secured 6 seats and is leading in 9 and United People’s Party Liberal has won 6 seats is leading in 1, Independent and others on 2 seats.

Assam status

BJP top guns Himanta Biswa Sarma and Sarbananda Sonowal retained the Jalukbari and Majuli with a huge margin. Sarma secured the Jalukbari seat by a margin of over 1 lakh votes.

The BJP is looking to create history in the state by becoming the only non-Congress government to win consecutive terms.

Counting of votes for the Assam assembly elections began at 8 am Sunday amid strict protocols, amid a raging second wave of COVID-19.

Voter turnouts in Assam in first, second and third phases were 79.93%, 80.96% and 82.33% respectively. The ruling party has contested 92 seats in alliance with the Asom Gana Parishad, which has contested 26 seats.

In the opposition Grand Alliance, the Congress has contested 94 seats, whereas Badruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF has contested 14.