Fresh polling is underway at four polling stations across three Assembly constituencies in Assam, after the Election Commission declared the voting conducted during the second phase of the state Assembly elections on April 1 as void following anomalies, including EVM-related discrepancies.

A voter turnout of 47.6%, 58.64% and 46.03% has been recorded till 1 PM in the polling stations at Ratabari, Sonai and Haflong seat respectively.

Repolling is underway at Indira MV School under Ratabari assembly constituency, Madhya Dhanehari LP School under Sonai constituency in Cachar district.

It is to be noted that the EC decided to do a repolling in Ratabari’s No 149 Indira MV School polling station after an Electronic Voting Machine was found in a car that belonged to Patharkandi BJP candidate Krishendu Paul.

Repolling was ordered in Sonai constituency’s 463 Madhya Dhanehori LP School polling booth after a clash broke out between two groups in the constituency in Assam’s Cachar district on April 1.

Police personnel were forced to fire in the air to disperse the mob while two people suffered injuries in the clash.

Meanwhile, repolling is also underway at Khothlir LP School and Mualdum LP School under Haflong constituency respectively.

The ECI had recently ordered fresh polls at the polling stations from 7am to 6pm in accordance with the instructions of the apex poll body.