Polling for the third and the final phase of tightly contested Assam Assembly elections ended on Tuesday evening. Around 82.33 percent voter turnout has been recorded till 7 pm, as per data provided by the Election Commission.

Voting for 40 seats spread across 12 districts began on Tuesday morning with long queues of voters waiting to cast their votes.

Guwahati polls
Polling underway in West Guwahati Constituency

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the polling in Assam was largely peaceful despite sporadic incidents of violence and disturbances in some areas. EVM malfunctioning was reported in several polling centers and voting in them resumed after the machines were replaced.

As a major push for conducting free and fair elections, live monitoring and webcasting of more than 50 per cent of polling stations including critical and vulnerable polling booths were put in place to ensure a safe and secure atmosphere in polling areas.

BJP ministers Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Siddhartha Bhattacharya and Phani Bhusan Choudhury, who are in the fray in this phase, exercised their franchise in the early morning hours.

Himanta Biswa Sarma
Himanta Biswa Sarma poses after getting inked in Amingaon
Assam Minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury casts vote in Bongaigaon
Phani Bhusan Choudhury after casting his vote at a polling station in Bongaigaon

BPF ministers Chandan Brahma and Pramila Rani Brahma also cast their votes as did BPF chief Hagrama Mohilary, BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass, Congress leader Ratul Patowary among others.

Polls were conducted with strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols. Facilities of thermal scanning, hand sanitisers, face masks were also made available at the polling stations.


The first voters at the polling centres were greeted with saplings and the senior citizens with ‘gamosas’.

First time voter


Arrangement for wheelchairs and e-rickshaws were also made at many booths for the convenience of senior citizens and physically challenged voters.


This phase will decide the fate of 337 candidates across 40 constituencies in the state.

The first phase on March 27 witnessed a voter turnout of nearly 77 per cent, while a voter turnout of nearly 74.76 per cent was recorded in the second phase. Counting of votes will take place on May 2.