Assam recorded a voter turnout of 57.89 percent till 3:10 pm across 39 constituencies during the second phase of the state assembly polls, as per figure provided by the Election Commission of India.

The Nalbari constituency has witnessed the highest voting percentage with a voter turnout of 71 per cent till 3.10 pm, while the Kamalpur constituency witnessed the lowest voting percentage with a voter turnout of just 43.55 per cent.

The second phase of polling for assembly elections in Assam began at 7 am on Thursday and is currently underway.

Congress leader Sushmita Dev voted at a polling station in Silchar. After casting her vote, she interacted with the media and said, “Mahajot (grand alliance) is an inclusive alliance while BJP is a communal alliance.”

The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) President Badruddin Ajmal also exercised his franchise in Hojai.

Earlier, former Minister of State (MoS) for Railways Rajen Gohain after casting his vote at a polling booth in Nagaon, said BJP will form government in Assam by winning more than 75 seats in the state.

Meanwhile, voting for the second and penultimate phase of Assam assembly elections was temporarily stopped in Silchar and Nagaon due to EVM malfunctions.

A total of 345 candidates are in the fray from 39 constituencies across 13 districts in this phase.