The average voter turnout in Assam was recorded at 62.09 percent till 03:45 pm across 47 constituencies in the first phase of assembly polls

The Biswanath constituency in the state has witnessed the highest voting percentage, while the Dibrugarh constituency witnessed the lowest voting percentage.

Earlier in the day, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal also cast his vote in Dibrugarh.

AGP President Atul Bora and Assam Congress Chief Ripun Bora, along with their families also exercised their franchise today.

Over 81.09 lakh voters, including 40,77,210 males and 40,32,481 females, are eligible to cast their votes at 1,1537 polling stations in this phase. The polling will continue till 6 pm.

A total of 264 candidates are in the fray for 47 seats. Polling for the next two phases will be held on April 1 and April 6.