Candidates of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Asom Gana Parishad  (AGP) on Monday filed their nominations for the first phase of Assam Assembly elections, to be held on March 27.

BJP candidate Ajanta Neog, who recently joined the party after quitting the Congress submitted her nomination paper for Golaghat constituency.

Besides Prasanta Phukan who will contest from Dibrugarh, BJP candidate Binod Hazarika (Lahowal) and Teros Gowala (Duliajan) also filed their nomination papers to the returning officers today.


Meanwhile, AGP president Atul Bora also submitted his nomination paper from Bokakhat today. He was accompanied by State Transport Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary for filing his nomination.

On the other hand, working president of the AGP, Keshab Mahanta who will be in the fray from Kaliabor constituency filed his nomination today.

The last date for submission of nomination papers by candidates is March 9. The last date for withdrawal of candidature has been fixed at March 12.