The AIUDF,  a major constituent of the Opposition Congress-led Grand Alliance, announced its first list of candidates for 16 constituencies for the upcoming Assembly elections yesterday.

Party president Badruddin Ajmal said he has renominated seven of its 13 sitting MLAs. The party has put 11 candidates in alliance with its partners while it has decided to go for a friendly contest in five seats.

According to the list of candidates, signed by Ajmal and general secretary Aminul Islam, Sirajuddin Ajmal will contest from Jamunamukh seat. While Hafiz Bashir Ahmed will contest from Bilasipara West constituency, advocate Aminul Islam will fight from Mankachar constituency and Nazrul Hague will contest from Dhubri Assembly constituency. Nizanur Rahman will contest from Gauripur, Sri Foni Talukdar from Bhawanipur, Karim Uddin Barbhuya from Sonai and Alhaj Aminul Islam from Dhing. Dr Hafiz Rafiqul Islam will contest from Jonia seat, Nizamuddin Choudhury will contest from Algapur seat and Sujam Uddin Laskar from Katlichera seat.

The party candidates, selected for a friendly contest with grand alliance candidates are Minakshi Rahman from Sarukhetri, Rafiqul Islam from Jaleshwar, Mujibur Rahman from Dalgaon, Ashraful Hussain from Chenga and Rajib Ahmed from Bagbar.