BJP nominee from Assam Biswajit Daimary was on Monday elected unopposed to the Upper House of the Parliament.

February 22 was the last day of withdrawal of candidature and no other candidate filed nominations, resulting in Daimary being declared winner of the by-election to a Rajya Sabha seat from Assam.

The seat to the Upper House of Parliament lied vacant after Daimary had resigned from Rajya Sabha following switching side to saffron party from its ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

It may be mentioned that the 49-year-old leader who was one of the founding leaders of the Bodoland Peoples’ Front(BPF) had resigned from the party in November 21 last year to join the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP).