Counting of votes for the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election in Assam is currently underway. The counting which began at 8 am on Saturday will decide the fate of 241 candidates who contested the polls.

Polling for 40 seats of the BTC was held in two phases on December 7 and 10. The magic number for gaining control of the council is by winning 21 of the 40 seats.

As per early trends, Pramod Boro-led UPPL was leading on 25 seats as votes were being counted for the 40 seats of the BTC election.

Ruling BPF-led by BTC chief Hagrama Mahilary, which won 20 seats in 2015, was ahead only in seven seats.

The BJP, which is contesting against its own ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), is leading on seven seats.

BTC trends

According to the Assam State Election Commission, counting of votes is underway in ten subdivisional headquarters in Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri districts – Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon, Chirang, Bijni, Tamulpur, Parbatjhora, Bhergaon, Mushalpur, Udalguri and Salbari.

Tight security arrangements have been made at all counting centers.

79 percent voters had exercised their franchise to elect their representatives for the BTC which was formed in 2003 and elections being held since 2005.

After signing the Bodo peace accord early this year and the formation of Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), it is the first election in BTAD.