All four newly elected candidates, including the lone independent in the recently concluded Manipur Assembly elections, were sworn in as the new MLAs of their respective ACs on Thursday.

The oath was administered by Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly Y Khemchand at his chamber in the presence of Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Minister Biswarjit and other MLAs.

The newly sworn BJP MLAs are Paonam Brojen of Wangjing Tentha AC, Oinam Lukhoi of Wangoi AC, Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu AC and lone independent Yumkhaibam Antaz Khan of Lilong AC.

Addressing mediapersons after the ceremony, Chief Minister N Biren Singh said his govt welcomes independent MLA Y Antaz Khan and that they have invited him to join the BJP-led government. However, he also added that it is entirely up to him if he wants to join the ruling party or not.

Meanwhile, the newly sworn lone independent MLA Antaz Khan informed that he has not yet decided whether to join the ruling party or not, adding that the decision will be taken after a thorough discussion with his supporters.