Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Medo Yhokha won the bypolls to 14-Southern Angami-I Assembly Constituency in Nagaland on Tuesday.

Yhokha bagged the Southern Angami-I seat by defeating his nearest rival, Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo with 598 votes, as per the ECI website.

Yhokha secured 4,773 votes to win the 14-Southern Angami-I assembly seat, while Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Independent) got 4,175 votes and Kikovi Kirha of Naga People’s Front (NPH) got 2,575 votes.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio congratulating the NDPP Candidate tweeted, “Heartiest congratulations to NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha on winning the 14 Southern Angami 1 A/C bye-election. I wish you all the best in serving the people of Nagaland.”

Neiphiu tweet

The by-elections were held for the Southern Angami-I seat in Kohima district and the Pungro-Kiphire seat in Kiphire district.

Earlier, Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam emerged victorious in the 60-Pungro Kiphire Assembly seat.

The bypolls were necessitated after the deaths of then Assembly Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshu and T Torechu of the Naga People’s Front respectively.

Counting of votes in the by-elections to two assembly constituencies in Nagaland began as per schedule at 8 am on Tuesday amidst tight security and following all COVID-19 regulations.