Voting is underway in four Assembly constituencies of Manipur on Saturday with coronavirus precautionary measures in place.

The bypoll to the 4 vacant assembly seat- Wangoi, Lilong, Wangjing Tentha & Saitu began at 7 am. Voter turnout has been recorded at 58.66 per cent till 1 pm.

Bypolls to Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha seats in Thoubal district and Saitu in Kangpokpi and Wangoi in Imphal West were necessitated after four Congress MLAs resigned from the state Legislative Assembly.

Over 1.35 lakh voters will decide the fate of 11 candidates including four from Congress, three from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), three independents and one from National People’s Party (NPP).

The ruling BJP is supporting an independent candidate on Lilong assembly seat.

To ensure peaceful polling and safety of voters and poll personnel, adequate measures has been taken up by the commission, deploying nearly 2,000 personnels. Five company of Central Armed Police Force has been deployed in addition to state police forces.