The Assam government has announced a commission for the alteration of the areas under the Bodoland Territorial Region or the BTR. Assam governor Jagdish Mukhi has constituted the commission under the paragraph 14 of the sixth schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Retired IAS officer P.P. Verma has been named as the Chairman of the commission.

The members of the commission include Bodoland Territorial Council administrator, All Bodo Students’ Union vice-president Jayanta Basumatary, Convenor of Red Cross, Udalguri Dalim Bayan and joint secretary of the Assam Govt’s home and political department.

The commission has been set up as part of the provisions in the Bodo Peace Accord which was signed on January 27, 2020.

A notification issued by the joint secretary of the home and political department stated that the Commission will submit its recommendation within six months from the date of this notification. This will come into effect from the date of issue of the notification.

Meanwhile, Assam health, finance and education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma took to Twitter to express his happiness, “Excellent news for both Bodo and Non-Bodo communities. This committee will finally resolve the most contentious issue on the basis of free will.”