Ahead of the crucial by-polls in Manipur, Chief Minister N Biren Singh has inducted 5 new ministers in his cabinet even as 6 ministers including Education minister T Radheshyam and Health Minister L Jayentakumar were shown the door.

The development comes as a surprise as barely a week ago, BJP National vice president Baijayant Panda had made it clear that there will be no cabinet rejig until the by-polls.

The new ministers took oath at the Raj Bhawan this evening in presence of Chief Minister N Biren Singh and BJP national vice president Jay Panda.

The five new faces in the N Biren Cabinet are Okram Henry Singh of Wangkhei assembly constituency who recently left the Congress to join BJP, Oinam Lukhoi Singh of Wangoi constituency, and three BJP MLAs Vungzagin Valte, Salam Rajen and T Satyabrata.

Meanwhile, those who exited from the Cabinet are Agricultural Minister V Hangkhalian, Social Welfare Minister Nemcha Kipgen and Education & Labour Minister Th Radheshyam, CAF & PD Minister Karam Shyam , Health Minister L Jayentakumar, Hills & Tribal Affairs Minister N Kayisii.

According to party insiders, Chief Minister N Biren Singh decided to drop the ministers following consultations with the BJP central leadership.

Subsequent to this, the Chief Minister had shot off a letter to Governor Najma Heptullah recommending her to drop the three ministers.