In the wake of sudden spike in COVID-19 cases in Guwahati including those without any travel or contact history, the Assam Government has decided to impose ‘ward-wise lockdown’ in 11 areas of Guwahati from Tuesday night.

The lockdown will come into effect from 9 PM and will remain in force until further orders.

Addressing a press meet, Kamrup (M) Deputy Commissioner Biswajit Pegu made the formal announcement that several areas in 11 wards in Guwahati will be placed under lockdown from 9 pm, June 23. DC Pegu further briefed the media persons about the new lockdown norms.

The capital city recorded at least 144 COVID-19 cases without any travel history or traced contact source.

Earlier on Monday, health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said that the situation is critical and his department has recommended the Kamrup (Metro) administration to go for complete lockdown of wards based on the number of cases.

The areas where lockdown will come into force are:

Ward No.2 of Guwahati Municipal Corporation

Ferry Ghat Colony No. 3, 4, 5, & 6; New Railway Colony, Institute Colony, Triangular Colony; LOCO Colony; B.B.C. Colony; Part of Sadilapur; Garpandu, Jaymati Nagar

Ward No.3

Rest Camp Colony; Water Works Railway Colony; Temple Ghat Colony; Maligaon Baripara area; Garpandu area; Adabari; Adabari Rly Colony, Green Park Anandanagar; Maligaon area

Ward No. 4

Kamakhya Temple; Kamakhya Colony Area; Pandu Nath Basti and Kalipur Area and rest of Maligaon Area

Ward No.5

Maligaon Rly Colony (East and West); Gotanagar Rly Colony (West, Central and East), Gosala Rly Colony, Durgasarobar and Santipur, Bhutnath

Ward no. 6

Dhirenpara; Ganeshpara; Manpara; Datalpara; Kotahbari; Gorchuk and Jyotikuchi (Part)

Ward No. 7

Gotanagar (Part), Gotanagar NC, Maligaon NC, Fatasil NC, Durgasarobar, Fatasil, Dhirenpara Hill Side

Ward No. 8

Kumarpara, Machkhowa, Athgaon (Part), Bharalumukh

Ward No.9

Chatribari, Krishna Nagar, Tokobari, Fancybazar, Athgaon (Part)

Ward No. 10 (Part)

Panbazar, Fancybazar (Part), Solapara

Ward No.15

Bishnupur, Natunbasti, Bimalanagar, Mahendra Nagar, Sankarpur, Fatasil (Part)

Ward No. 16

Bhaskar Naga, Barsapara, Dhirenpara (Part), Anandanagar; Rongpathar