Controversial Manipur MLA Thounaojam Shyamkumar has been disqualified from the Manipur Legislative Assembly. This was announced as the final verdict by the Speakers’ Tribunal of the Manipur assembly over the matter.

Interestingly, two days ago, Shyamkumar tendered a resignation letter to the Assembly Speaker saying that he was stepping down from the post of being a Member of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly on his own volition.

The Speaker’s Tribunal headed by Speaker Y Khemchand held a meeting earlier today where the decision was taken. A notice was also issued in this regard which was signed by the state assembly’s secretary M Ramani Devi.

Shyamkumar was elected to the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly from the Andro Assembly constituency on a Congress ticket.

Soon after the results of the State Assembly election held in 2017 were declared, Shyamkumar jumped to the rival camp led by BJP and went on to become a Cabinet Minister in the BJP-led coalition Government.

All this while, he has been facing a disqualification case under the anti-defection law as per the 10th Schedule of the Constitution.

With the Speaker’s Tribunal not disposing the disqualification case for a prolonged period, the case was taken to the High Court of Manipur and then to the Supreme Court.

Finally on March 18, the apex court passed an interim order whereby Shyamkumar was barred from entering the State Assembly complex as well as from holding any ministerial post.