BPF leader and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary has filed his nomination papers for re-election to the Upper House in the Parliament.

Daimary filed his nomination in the presence of Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, BTC Chief Hagrama Mohilary, AGP President Atul Bora and BJP State President Ranjit Dass.

9 persons, including BJP candidate Bhubaneshwar Kalita, Subhash Dutta and Congress-AIUDF backed independent candidate Ajit Bhuyan have acquired nomination papers for contesting the polls to 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Assam.

While, the last day of filing nominations is March 13, these 3 Rajya Sabha seats go to polls on March 26.