The 92nd Academy Awards on Sunday bestowed the most outstanding icons of the industry at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

From Joaquin Phoenix-starrer Joker to Martin Scorsese’s ‘The Irishman’ and Quentin Tarantino’s ‘Once Upon A Time In Hollywood’, there were big names which were contending for the coveted trophy.

‘Joker’ was leading with 11 nominations, followed by 10 nominations each to Sam Mendes-directorial war film ‘1917′, ‘Once Upon A Time In Hollywood’ and ‘The Irishman’.

Joaquin Phoenix won the best actor in a lead role for ‘Joker’. He won the hearts of all through the portrayal of the super-villain comic character Joker. It is for the second time that the character has bagged the Oscar, the first one being honoured posthumously to Heath Ledger.

Brad Pitt won the best supporting actor for the film ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’, who starred alongside Leonardo DiCaprio. Pitt received his first as an actor.

Renee Zellweger claimed her Oscar for the best actress in a leading role in ‘Judy’.

Korean feature film ‘Parasite’ made history at the Oscars, becoming the first non-English language film to win best picture, after sweeping up honors for director Bong Joon Ho, original screenplay and the international feature film category.

Bong Joon-ho’s satirical suspense thriller ‘Parasite’ also won in the Best foreign film category.

For the second year in a row, the Academy Awards went host-less.

Here’s the complete list of winners:
Best Motion Picture
‘Parasite’ (Neon), Kwak Sin-ae and Bong Joon Ho, producers

Best Director
Bong Joon Ho, ‘Parasite’

Best Female Actor
Renee Zellweger, ‘Judy’

Best Male Actor
Joaquin Phoenix, ‘Joker’

Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Laura Dern, ‘Marriage Story’

Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Brad Pitt, ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’

Best Original Screenplay
‘Parasite’, Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-won

Best Adapted Screenplay
‘Jojo Rabbit’, Taika Waititi

Best Cinematography
‘1917’, Roger Deakins

Best Visual Effects
‘1917’, Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy

Best International Feature
‘Parasite’ (South Korea)

Best Film Editing
‘Ford v Ferrari’, Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker

Best Production Design
‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’, production design: Barbara Ling; set decoration: Nancy Haigh

Best Costume Design
‘Little Women’, Jacqueline Durran

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
‘Bombshell, Kazu Hiro’, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker

Best Animated Feature Film
‘Toy Story 4’ (Pixar), Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera

Best Animated Short Film
‘Hair Love’, Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver

Best Sound Editing
‘Ford v Ferrari’, Donald Sylvester

Best Sound Mixing
‘1917’, Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson

Best Original Score
‘Joker’, Hildur Gudnadottir

Best Original Song
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” ‘Rocketman’, music by Elton John; lyrics by Bernie Taupin

Best Documentary Feature
‘American Factory’ (Netflix), Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert

Best Documentary Short Subject
‘Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)’, Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva

Best Live-Action Short Film
‘The Neighbors’ Window’, Marshall Curry


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.