A total of 118 awardees, have been conferred with the Padma Shri and Padma Bhusan Awards for their excellent contribution in the fields of social work, art, entertainment and sports among others.

13 eminent personalities including sportspersons from Northeast will be conferred with Padma Awards 2020 at the National Capital on Sunday.

Five personalities from Assam have been awarded the Padma Shri. Historian Shri Jogendra Nath Phukan, author Shri Lil Bahadur Chettri, dance exponent Smt Indira PP Bora, oncologist Dr Ravi Kannan R & veterinarian Dr Kushal Konwar Sarma are the recipient of this prestigious award.

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal took to twitter to congratulate these people for their excellent contribution in their respective fields.

School teacher Trinity Saioo, a leading farmer in Meghalaya is also a recipient of the Padma Shri award. Saioo helped the illiterate women with organic certification, marketing, documentation to avail subsidies as well.

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma took to twitter to congratulate the lady farmer.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio also congratulated SC Jamir on being the recipient of the Padma Bhushan award, the third highest civilian award in the country in the field of public affairs.

Three people from the Gorkha community have also made it to the list of Padma Shri award. Tarundeep Rai and Jitu Rai are the awardees of the civilian award this time.

Sathyanarayan Mundayoor, a social worker for affordable education in Arunachal Pradesh has also received the Padma Shri award by president Ram Nath Kovind.

Ace boxer from Manipur, MC Mary Kom has been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan.

Here's the list of the Awardees:
  • Padma Vibhushan Mary Kom- Sports, Manipur
  • Padma Bhushan SCJAMIR- Public Affairs, Nagaland
  • Padm Shri -PP BORA- Art, Assam
  • Padma Shri Lil Bahadur Chettri, Literature & Education
  • Jogendra Nath Phukan- Literatures & Education, Assam
  • Dr. Kushal Konwar Sarma- Medicine, Assam
  • Oinam Bembem Devi- Football, Manipur
  • Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi-Literature, Arunachal
  • C. Kamlova – Literature & Education,Mizoram
  • Pu Lalbiakthanga Pachuau – Literature & Education, Mizoram
  • Sathyanarayan Mundayoor- Social work, Arunachal
  • Trinity Saioo- Agriculture, Meghalaya
  • Dr. Ravi Kannan R- Medicine, Assam

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra took to twitter to congratulate all those who have been conferred the Padma Awards. He wrote that the awardees included extraordinary individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the society, nation and humanity.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.