A memorandum of settlement was signed between the Government of India, Tripura government and rebel group National Liberation Front of Twipra (NLFT) in New Delhi on Saturday.

NLFT has been banned under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act since 1997. NLFT has been responsible for violent activities including 317 insurgency incidents in which 28 security personnel and 62 civilians lost their lives during 2005-2015. Peace talks with NLFT were initiated in 2015.

NLFT (SD) has agreed to abjure the path of violence, join the mainstream and abide by the Constitution of India. It has agreed to the surrender of its 88 cadres with their weapons.

The surrendered cadres will be given surrender benefits as per the Surrender-cum-Rehabilitation Scheme, 2018 of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The Memorandum of Settlement was signed by Satyendra Garg, Joint Secretary (North East) Ministry of Home Affairs, Kumar Alok, Addl. Chief Secretary (Home) Govt. of Tripura and Sabir Kumar Debbarma & Kajal Debbarma of NLFT (SD).