History has been created, Rajya Sabha has passed the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019 that seeks to scrap Article 370 and Article 35A in J&K while also bifurcating the state into union territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

The Bill was passed by the Upper House through a voice vote, with 125 members voting in favour of the bill and 61 against it.

While the bill will be discussed in the Lok Sabha on Tuesday, 6 August, its passage means Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh are the country’s newest union territories.

Earlier, in the day after announcing the repealing of Article 370, Shah introduced the Reorganisation Bill calling for bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories that of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Meanwhile, the decision to strip Jammu and Kashmir’s special status drew sharp reactions from political bigwigs in Kashmir.

Both PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti and National Conference Vice President Omar Abdullah termed the move catastrophic and betrayal of the trust of the Kashmiri people.