The International Cricket Council officially launched the inaugural World Test Championship on Monday.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies are the teams qualified for the WTC which will be starting on 1st August 2019.

The nine teams will be competing in the championship over a period of two years, in 27 series and 72 matches, the top two teams will contest in the ICC World Test Championship Final in June 2021 which will be played in the United Kingdom.

Each of the nine teams will play six series, three home and three away series, with each series counting for 120 points, distributed over the number of matches in a series. The first cycle of the WTC consists of five-day matches and will include day-night matches.

India’s skipper, Virat Kohli, said the championship will add context to the longest format of the game, he also said that Test cricket is very challenging and coming out on top in the traditional form of cricket match is highly satisfying. He further said The Indian team has done well in recent years and will be fancying its chances in the championship with great enthusiasm.

The WTC will ensure a pinnacle event for the longest format of cricket matches just as the World Cups for men and women in the ODI and T20I formats, it will give context to bilateral Test cricket.