Historic swearing-in ceremony at Itanagar’s Dorjee Khandu Convention Hall as for the first time an elected BJP government took oath in the frontier state of Arunachal Pradesh.

BJP leader Pema Khandu took oath as the 10th chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday. State Governor Brig (Retd) BD Mishra administered the oath of office and secrecy to Khandu..

Chowna Mein was the next to take oath as he retained the post of Deputy chief minister. 11 Cabinet ministers, including Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, were also administered oath along with Khandu.

Among others in the council of ministers are Wangki Lowang, Honchun Ngandam, Komlung Mosang, Alo Libang, Bamang Felix, Mama Natung, Tage Taki, Tumke Bagra, Taba Tadir and Nakab Nalo.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, his deputy Y Patton, Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb and Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh along with BJP general secretary Ram Madhav were among others who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Pema Khandu thanked the people of the state on behalf of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah for voting the BJP to power in the Himalayan state.

Khandu also outlined the task for his government for the next 5 years. In top focus, Khandu said, would be law and order situation, health, education and employment.


The BJP virtually swept the Assembly polls in Arunachal winning 41 of the 60 seats. However this has not deterred the few opposition MLAs to hold on to their role in the Assembly.