President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday appointed Narendra Modi as the new Prime Minister.

The BJP-led NDA got 353 out of 542 seats in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said, “Exercising powers vested in him under Article 75 (1) of the Constitution of India, President Ram Nath Kovind, today appointed Narendra Modi to the office of Prime Minister of India.”

The President also requested Narendra Modi to advise him about the names of others to be appointed members of the Union Council of Ministers; and to indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, it said.

As reported by ANI, the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister will likely be held on May 30.

Earlier, newly elected MPs of the BJP-led NDA met today to formally elect Prime Minister Narendra Modi as their leader setting in motion the process of government formation.

The meeting took place in Parliament’s Central Hall, before which BJP MPs separately met at the Parliament House.