BJP’s Pema Khandu is all set to form the government for a second term. Khandu-led BJP has won 34 seats and leading in 2 seats for the 60 seat Assembly. BJP had already won three seats unopposed.

Khandu won by 2619 votes defeating his closest rival, Thupten Khunpen, a monk from the Mukto constituency, Khandu’s home turf.

This is the first time Khandu or even his late father and former Arunachal chief minister Dorjee Khandu had fought elections in the real sense of it. Prior to now, Khandu and his late father had always won unopposed.

Another significant victory for the BJP has been the defeat of state Congres president Takam Sanjay. BJP’s Jummun Ete Deori defeated Sanjay to win the Lekang seat. Jummun won by a margin of over 5000 votes.

BJP’s Alo Libang, the health minister of Arunachal defeated former chief minister Gegong Apang by 1609 votes. Apang had resigned from BJP recently, floated his own party – Arunachal Democratic Front but later ended up joining JD(S).

Meanwhile, BJP’s Kiren Rijiju and state party president Tapir Gao won the Arunachal West and East Lok Sabha seats respectively.