Beating all odds, the ruling BJP registered its best ever tally in Assam winning 9 of the total 14 Lok Sabha seats in the state. While the BJP’s allies drew a blank in the state, it did not impact the NDA’s overall tally which went up from 7 in 2014 to 9 this time.

The Congress, meanwhile, held on to its tally of 3 seats even as the AIUDF number came down to 1 from 3 in 2014. The results in Assam were not devoid of surprises with some big names ending on the losing side and vice versa.

“Ako Ebar, Modi Sarkar, or Modi government once again, ” Assam seems to have taken this election call by the BJP seriously despite the Citizenship Bill issue and perceived anti-incumbency.

This is apparent from the rising saffron surge in the state where the BJP made gains despite assumptions that the Citizenship Bill issue may lead to deplete the party’s strength. The party made rapid strides beating all odds to even spring surprises in a seat or two.

Among the most striking of wins would be that of party’s Silchar candidate Rajdeep Roy defeated his famed Congress rival Sushmita Dev by over 80 thousand votes.

It was a clear saffron wave in Barak Valley with another BJP candidate Kripanath Malla winning the minority dominated Karimganj seat. Malla defeated AIUDF’s sitting MP Radheshyam Biswas by over 18000 votes.

However, the BJP lost its Assam citadel of Nagaon with party candidate and sitting MLA Rupak Sharma losing to Congress’ Pradyut Bordoloi. Though the margin of defeat was a narrow 16,000, the result would hurt the BJP in a seat it had not lost since 1999.