Just over two months after severing ties with the ruling BJP in Assam, three AGP ministers Atul Bora, Phanibhushan Chowdhury and Keshab Mahanta have withdrawn their resignation today (March 13).

Ending all speculations, the AGP is back in the Sarbananda Sonowal-led Assam cabinet ahead of the Lok Sabha elections after a discussion held on Tuesday night between BJP General Secretary Ram Madhav and AGP leaders at Hotel Radisson Blu in Guwahati.

The ministers had resigned in January this year following AGP’s differences with the ruling BJP over the Citizenship Amendment Bill.

The decision was taken at a legislature party meet that was held earlier in the day today following AGP reuniting with BJP post a meeting with BJP leader Ram Madhav.

The legislature party meet was held at the Assembly where a formal decision was taken for the three ministers from the Asom Gana Parishad to rejoin the Assam cabinet.


Its is worthwhile mentioning that though the three AGP ministers did resign, their resignation letters were never sent to the Governor.

Senior AGP leader Prafulla Kumar Mahanta skipped the meeting and is the lone AGP minister to oppose the AGP-BJP alliance.

The three ministers have taken over their earlier portfolios, AGP party chief Atul Bora will rejoin as the Agriculture Minister, Phanibhushan Choudhury will be taking over as the Food and Civil Supplies Ministry and Keshab Mahanta will be taking over the Water Resources Ministry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.