In a landmark judgement, a special CBI court has convicted NDFB (R) chairman Ranjan Daimary and 14 others in the 30 October, 2008 serial blasts case in Assam.

The court will announce the quantum of punishment on Wednesday, January 30.

Those accused in the case are – George Boro, Jayanti Brahma, Aansai Boro, Ajay Basumatary, Prabhat Boro, Raju Sarkar, Khargeswar Basumatary, Rajen Goyari, B Thorai, Mathuram Brahma, Indra Brahma and Loko Basumatary

The Central Bureau of Investigation, after taking over the case from the Assam Police, had filed two chargesheets naming as many as 22 accused, including the then NDFB chief Ranjan Daimary, who, according to the CBI had orchestrated the blasts.

The first chargesheet was filed on May 26, 2009 which was followed by the second and the final chargesheet on December 20 in 2010.

The NDFB (R) chairman and prime accused in the serial blasts case, Ranjan Daimary was arrested again after he was out on bail since June 2013.