A total of 855 police and paramilitary personnel were awarded police medals, including 146 Police Medal for Gallantry, 74 President’s Police Medal for distinguished service and 632 police medal for meritorious service were conferred on the men and the women in khaki from various state police and central police forces and organisations, ahead of Republic Day.

CRPF, the country’s largest paramilitary force, was decorated with maximum 44 awards for bravery followed by Odisha Police at 26 medals, Jammu and Kashmir Police 25 medals and Chhattisgarh 14 medals.

Three Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel were also decorated posthumously with the top category President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG).

Other gallantry medal winners hail from Meghalaya getting 13 medals, followed by Uttar Pradesh with 10, Border Security Force with 8. Assam Rifles won one medal.