The Union Cabinet on Wednesday approved a landmark amendment to Article 280 and the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution to significantly improve the financial resources and administrative powers of the Autonomous District Councils of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura fulfilling long standing aspirations of the tribal population in these North Eastern States.

The Finance Commission constituted by Union Government will now be specifically mandated to recommend devolution of financial resources to the ten Autonomous District Councils as well as the village and municipal councils in the Sixth Schedule areas.

The fresh move will substantially enhance the funds available to these local government institutions for undertaking development works in tribal areas.

The amendment also provides for constitution of State Finance Commissions in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura.

The amendments also propose to rename the existing autonomous councils as Karbi Anglong Autonomous Territorial Council, Dima Hasao Autonomous Territorial Council, Garo Hills Autonomous Territorial Council and the Khasi Hills Autonomous Territorial Council among others as the present jurisdiction of these Councils extend to more than one district.