Counting is underway for the 28 district council seats in North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council.

According to latest reports, the BJP has won 8 of the 28 seats while 2 seats have gone to independent candidates.

BJP’s Hen Samuel Changsan has won from the Diger constituency defeating his nearest Congress rival by less than 100 votes. Meanwhile, the saffron party’s Ranu Langthasa has retained the Semkhor seat.

BJP candidate from Hadingma David Bathari has also emerged victorious. BJP candidates from Namrothang and Hamri have also won from the respective constituencies.

Meanwhile, two Independent candidates have also won from Dolong and Dihamlai constituencies.