After 4 members of the MHA-constituted Committee for implementation of the Clause 6 of the Assam Accord had refused to be a part of the panel, retired IAS officer MP Bezbaruah, who was named Chairman of the nine-member committee have now decided to opt out of the committee.

The development comes just a day after 4 members of the Committee, eminent litterateurs Nagen Saikia and Rong Bong Terang, intellectual Mukund Rajbongshi and the All Assam Students’ Union decided not to be a part of the panel.


Notably, the Union Home Ministry had constituted a committee with retired IAS officer MP Bezbaruah as the Chairman to ensure implementation of the Clause 6 of the historical Assam Accord which provides for constitutional, legislative and administrative safeguards to protect the cultural, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people.