The nation paid homage to the martyrs today, who sacrificed their lives while defending Parliament House in the 2001 terror attack.

Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Union Home minister Rajnath Singh and other dignitaries paid their homage to those killed in the Parliament attack.

Prime Minister Modi saluted the courage and valour of the security personnel who lost their lives during the attack.

On December 13, 2001, five gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire.

Five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police official, two Parliament watch and ward staff, a gardener and a camera person were among those who killed in the attack.