After the historic win, stage is set now for a grand MNF swearing in, which is all set to take place on Saturday.

MNF chief and the party’s chief ministerial candidate Zoramthanga had called on Governor K Rajasekharan on Tuesday evening, soon after his party swept the polls winning as many as 26 seats and staked claim to form the next government.


Soon after meeting the governor, Zoramthanga announced that the new cabinet will be will be sworn in on the 15th which is Saturday.

Meanwhile, informed sources have told Northeast Live that as many as 7 cabinet ministers apart from chief minister Zoramthanga will be sworn in on Saturday. Besides this, as many as 4 Ministers of state will also be sworn in.

Sources have also revealed that Tawnluia, MNF legislator from Tuichawng is likely to be inducted as the Home Minister.

Among six other cabinet ministers likely to be sworn in are R Lalthangliana, Lalchamliana, former home minister R Lalzirliana, Lalruatkima, K Beichhua and C Lalrinsanga.

Sources added that Aizawl FC owner Robert Romawia Royte will be sworn in as a minister of state along with Lalrintluanga Sailo, Lawmawma Tochhawng and K Lalrinliana.

It has also been learnt that former health minister Lalrinliana Sailo will be the new speaker while E Lalrinawma is likely to be the next deputy speaker.