A delegation of the victorious Mizo National Front (MNF) led by party Chief Zoramthanga met Governor Rajasekharan at the Raj Bhawan to stake claim for government formation.

The MNF made a clean sweep back to power in Mizoram after 10 years, winning 26 seats, securing an absolute majority in the 40-member Mizoram Assembly.

It has been a big blow for the ruling Congress, as three time Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla lost in both seats in South Champai and Serchhip.

The BJP, meanwhile, has made history in Mizoram with its candidate BD Chakma winning fro m Tuichawng. This is the first time the BJP has won a seat in Mizoram.