The Mizo National Front has returned to power in style in Mizoram with the party almost making a clean sweep.

As per the latest figures, the MNF is leading 25 seats while the Congress is leading only 5 seats while the BJP has won only 1 seat till now.

Celebrations are underway in the MNF office in Aizawl as the party got early leads and kept the momentum going.

Meanwhile, in a big blow for the ruling Congress, three time Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla loses in both South Champai and Serchhip.

In South Champhai, MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga beat Lal Thanhawla by over 1000 votes.

Meanwhile in Serchhip, ZPM chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma beat Lal THanhawla 410 votes.

The BJP, has made history in Mizoram with its candidate BD Chakma winning from Tuichwang. This is the first time the BJP has won a seat in Mizoram.

Meanwhile, NEDA Convener Himanta Biswa Sarma has congratulated the MNF for sweeping the Assembly elections in Mizoram.

Sarma in a tweet, congratulated MNF Chief Zoramthanga for his party’s historic win in the State.