Internal dissensions within the Congress party over candidates in the upcoming Assam Panchayat elections is out in the open with the Dibrugarh District Congress Committee expelling 11 of its party workers including Vice-President Nagen Borthakur from primary membership of the party for six years.

The step was initiated as a disciplinary action against the workers since they fielded independent candidates for the ensuing rural polls. This was stated by the committee through a press release signed by media secretary Angel Buragohain yesterday.

It might be mentioned here that the DDCC President Etuwa Munda had earlier indicated about strict disciplinary action against all those party workers who go against the decisions of the party.

Of late, there have been instances of clashes among party workers for party tickets at the Congress party’s Dibrugarh district office. Things had even reached the police station after former Chabua MLA Raju Sahu allegedly physically assaulted another senior party leader Diganta Hazarika.

Both Sahu and Hazarika had filed FIRs against one another at the Dibrugarh sadar police station. On the other hand, a section of disgruntled women Congress workers had also vandalised the party office some days ago over issuing of party tickets.

According to sources, there has been a clear division within the Congress party in Dibrugarh district which has resulted in a lot of indiscipline within.

Reportedly, one such faction is led by DDCC President and former Congress minister Etuwa Munda himself while the other faction is led by seasoned Congress leader and former union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar.