Voting begins for all 40 seats in the state of Mizoram, voting to continue till 4 pm.

A total of 209 candidates representing eight political parties, besides independents, are battling it out for the 40 Assembly seats.

For the first time in Mizoram’s election history, all polling booths is connected through wireless communication.

This technique is being used to help in timely reporting of every development and progress of the polling.

Till the last election in 2014 for the Lok Sabha, not all areas were connected through wireless technology and there was a delay in receiving information from far flung booths.

Meanwhile, the Mizoram Police has formed 84 flying squads, 39 dynamic check posts, 80 static surveillance teams and 80 quick response teams across the state to prevent any unlawful activities.

The Mizoram Police is being assisted in its poll related activities by 40 companies of central armed police forces, comprising personnel from BSF, SSB, CRPF and Assam Police.