CPI(M) central committee member Gautam Das has been as appointed as the new Tripura unit secretary after incumbent Bijan Dhar bowed out on completing three consecutive terms.

The 67 year old journalist and writer turned politician joined the CPI-M in 1968 and was the founder editor of the party’s Tripura state mouthpiece Daily Desher Katha and he held that post for about four decades.

The outgoing secretary said a 75 member state committee with the induction of several younger members was constituted along with a 15 member state secretariat.