The Mizoram Congress today released the list of its candidates in the run up to the polls.

While there are 12 debutants in the Congress list, as many as 9 sitting MLAs including deputy speaker R Lalrinawma were denied tickets.

The party named candidates for 36 of the total 40 candidates today, it is yet to name the contestants from 4 constituencies which include West Tuipui, Tuichawng, Palak and Siaha. Several sitting legislators were also given tickets for different constituencies.

The opposition MNF has already finalised all 40 of its candidates and pressure was on the Congress to come up with the list as soon as possible with barely over a month remaining for the polls.

Mizoram will go to polls on November 28th and the results will be declared on December 11.