Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat. Image Courtesy: ANI

The Election Commission of India today announced the dates for assembly elections in five states including Mizoram.

Mizoram will go to polls on November 28 along with Madhya Pradesh. The result for the polls will be declared on December 11.

The Northeastern state of Mizoram will go to polls along with Madhya Pradesh on November 28.

While polls in Rajasthan and Telangana will be held on December 7, elections in Chattisgarh will be held in two phases, November 12 and 20th respectively.

With the announcement of the poll dates by the ECI, the model code of conduct came into force with immediate effect.

Counting of votes for all the five states will be on December 11, announced Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat.

The term of Mizoram’s 40-member house expires on December 15, 2018.